A bit of sewing

It’s been quite a while where I felt like I have done any sewing at all.  Thank goodness for the Scrap Dance Two Step for March!!  This mystery quilt run by Carole at https://frommycarolinahome.wordpress.com/2017/03/17/scrap-dance-two-step-march/   got me busy!  I put my half square triangles together on Friday afternoon, and finished squaring them all up today.  I did have to send Carole an email and ask if I was “counting” properly.  I either have extra, or I am short!   That quilter’s math on an empty stomach….

It was fun working out of the scrap bins.  Most of my fabrics for this project were already “cut to size” when I started, coming from my scrap storage system.

Step 3 of the Two Step

Scrap Dance Two Step mystery Scrap HST

Last weekend my youngest granddaughter turned a year old.   I swore I would not be the “plastic toy grandma” but she needed a dump truck and a cell phone to call me!  I feel a bit better about the plastic toys because I also gave her a handmade fabric book.  I had some ” animal prints” from a panel that were just right. Especially since her mom had posted pictures of a paper book that had been mutilated ! Those pop up books just don’t hold up to the eager fingers of a little one.  I had fun putting this together –

20170318_183203

20170318_183218

20170318_183225

20170318_183231

20170318_183236

20170319_094952

20170318_183211

Yesterday I got together with another quilter and we laid out our blocks for a couple of senior quilts at church.  This is the look mine will take on –

Senior Quilt 2017

These are 8.5″ squares, and I got about 1/3 of it assembled yesterday during our workshop.  It was fun sewing on my little featherweight.  I did decide it is time to order that new belt the hubby suggested.  I used it on Wednesday at a sit & sew with the Material Girls, and we had a few moments of “hesitation”.

What have you been up to??

7 thoughts on “A bit of sewing

  1. Thanks! The bits for this scrap project all came from my scrap storage system or the actual scrap bins. I was trying to stick with darks and mediums, avoiding anything too light. Seems like I had lots of greys which helped give some good contrast to pieces that nothing else would look compatible. I can’t wait to see what she has us do in the next step. I have waited to cut the larger pieces (5 3/4″) to see what kind of units we will be creating. I may want to pick something that is constant and will tie all these wild pieces together. 🙂 The pattern comes from Carole at frommycarolinahome.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

