So little sewing progress

Sewing time has been SO limited last week. Guild on Monday, church meeting on Wednesday, trip to the dentist with the hubby on Thursday, Senior Quilt workshop on Saturday.

Monday was our quilt guild meeting. We had Cathy Miller, the singing quilter from Canada for our program.  She was great!  I love that her hubby sings along.  This is their last long road tour, so I am glad I got to hear her again.  Check out her website- The Singing Quilter website

For me, the meetings are usually such a fun, exciting time.  Our 2nd Time Around table made a good deal of money in spite of some situations that have left me very frustrated and wondering how to move forward.  The frustrations expanded over the week with decisions made by others, and further lack of decisions that affect how I proceed. No dirty laundry here….just know that I have hit my “limit” with this project.

My sewing room is buried in donations for 2nd Time Around. My good friend Nancy helped me Tuesday, when she stopped over, helped carry more donations upstairs; helped me to ‘clear my work table’  and ‘clear my brain’ so I could touch my own projects. She is a blessing to me.

I was able to do a little sewing on Tuesday afternoon and on Friday.  I am continuing to work on the Autumn Jubilee project.  I have the blocks made for 2 more Autumn Jubilee table runners. I have enough parts and pieces on my sewing table to also do placemats and have started to assemble them. I like the look of the 4 leaves together.  I used a 1″ strip at the top and bottom, and a 3″ on each side.  This is my test run and I think it is not wide enough…. When I was making those “strip decisions” I wasn’t thinking “seam allowance will eat up width”….hmmm…silly quilter.

coordinating placemat

 

Daughter # 1 wants her table runner to do double duty and serve 2 holidays– reversible.  She will get a Christmas fabric pieced block for the back to do double duty.   I made Christmas pillow slip covers last year for her, and have more of that same fabric. Since she like that fabric, I think she will like the flip side runner that I come up with.    I’ve got the “Autumn” side assembled, now I have to clear space and get the Christmas fabric out.  I will get it sent off to Texas when finished. (No pictures of the completed project until she receives it!)  The 2nd runner will be a keeper for me.  I added a little length to it as my table is quite long. The first one (in the picture above with the candlesticks) I made will go on top of my buffet or one of the treadle sewing machines in the dining room. Daughter # 2 wasn’t interest in a table runner.  I love that she is honest with me.  Both of my girls will tell me exactly what they want. This saves a lot of heartache for all of us.

The coming week doesn’t bode well for getting much done either, with committee meetings, more 2nd time around work, quilt bee, and babysitting the grand child too. Good thing Autumn and Christmas come around every year!

Note; the pattern for Autumn Jubilee is by Carole Carter. Check out her blog – https://frommycarolinahome.wordpress.com/

4 thoughts on “So little sewing progress

Leave a Reply

