Finished backing for Addison’s quilt

As I mentioned in my previous post  on July 10, 2016 ,  I just needed to get those 5″ borders on the backing and it would be ready to go.  I didn’t realize when I started that post that there was no photo of the basic back put together. So,  that post showed only  “blocks on the wall”.  Well, here it is; borders on, ready to pin baste on Wednesday.  The backing measures up at 91 x 99; and the quilt top measures out at 80.5 x 89.25.

Addison's Quilt back

As I mentioned previously, I had LOTS of left over half-square triangles and fairly large pieces of fabric too.  So, the Wheel Blocks were made, and the big blocks of fabric, balanced things out nicely I think.  These big blocks give you a better look at some of the fabrics that were used for the half square triangles in the top below.

Final border is on

The 91×99″ backing should give me the needed “clearance” when it comes to layering!  The border on the quilt top, and the extra 5″ borders on the backing are the same fabric.

I’ve been thinking about how to quilt this project. It has a very “modern” look.  I think I will do it quite simply, along the ditch on the diagonal stripes, using the walking foot, keeping it simple.  What would you do???

The binding is prepared and pressed and is the same fabric as the borders. I added a solid coral to be the “piping color” using the Susie’s Magic Binding technique that I so enjoy doing.

Binding for Addison's quilt

Have you tried it yet?  Tutorial can be found on Aunt Susie’s 52 Quilts in 52 Weeks blog here – Susie’s Magic Binding

Had a great time this morning at Ocean Waves Quilt Guild Community Sewing day.  I worked on Quilts of Valor String blocks.  It was nice to visit around the room with members of the guild whom I miss the chance to speak with on a regular basis. Tomorrow will be for “layering up” that Courthouse Steps log cabin baby quilt.  Happy stitching!

Leave a Reply

