Scrap Dance Tango and other fun

Not much has happened this week in the sewing room.  I have spent 3 days at church handling the snacks for 90+ children attending Vacation Bible School.  Things have gone well with the food, and I have had some other great volunteers to work with.  Tomorrow is the last day, and then I can “sleep in” until 7 or 8 am!  That morning alarm clock stuff is for the birds!  I had appointments yesterday so had the “day off” and when I got home I got to play in my sewing room a bit!

SCRAP DANCE TANGO UPDATE –pattern by Carole @ From My Carolina Home; a 6 month “mystery quilt” that began in January. Final instructions came  out on June 10, and I’ve made reasonable progress.

All bazillion blocks are made….so far I have only had to “re-construct” one…silly person pinning and sewing spinning blocks in the wrong directions.  While I had a few hours on Wednesday night, I managed to put together a few blocks!

Scrap Dance Tango - 16 blocks

I have about 2/3 of the blocks on the wall with a 12 across/13 down layout.  As I worked with these blocks, I was wishing I had my “marking pins” organized so I could use them.  (You can find my post about those pins here – Marking Pins  .   They were last used in my granddaughters quilt layout and not “resorted” back in the proper storage container. So, I resorted  to little scrap notes to keep me straight!  That problem was resolved before I came out to the sewing room this afternoon. (I put hubby to work helping me sort after I fed him lunch!)  Now I can start putting those marking pins to work!  I really have to figure out a way to “sort the pins” as I remove them from a project.  Right now, I just toss them in the big and fiddle with them later.

Here is a little bit larger view of what I have up on the design wall. There are 96 – 8″ blocks on the wall, and I still have 46 more to go on the design wall.

a larger look

Not too long ago, Carole asked me if I had chosen a layout. I am doing her “TANGO” layout! Before I decided, I had the hubby look at the different options Carole gave  in Step 6, and also the view of the one that was done by Marsha Day ‘on point’.  (Marsha’s photo is here – On Point Scrap Dance Tango by Marsha Day  ) Hubby and I had a great discussion and I was leaning toward the setting Marsha did. We finally agreed on Carole’s original plan.  In the meantime…I got a deal on EQ7 through AQS, and someday I hope to be as proficient as Carole.  Not going to start up a business, but would like to be able to make those “adjustments” myself easily.  I thought it would be a great time to upgrade my Windows 7 to Windows 10, so I can start “fresh”.

Meanwhile, I have had a little fun with my Brother Scan N Cut again.  I made a batch of 27 “lamb” name tags for my daughter to use in her Vacation Bible School program next month.  Check these out…..

20160622_194830

I managed to do this without cutting through the mat or tearing up too much paper. I have learned about the “pressure setting” and that “nurses tape (nexcare) ” is my friend with this machine!  Thank goodness for groups on Facebook who help the novice crafter!  I also learned the value of a “tape runner” like the blue one in the picture. Who KNEW it would make things so simple. I get the feeling most people do, but I am learning every day!

My fabric arrived this week for the borders on Addison’s quilt.  I have gotten it washed and out to the sewing room, ready to iron.  I just need to get those 2 final borders on and I can proceed to the layering and quilting.  I also washed about 22 yards of “other fabric” that I picked up last weekend at a quilter’s yard sale.  Beautiful fabrics for $2/yard.  So glad I had a big box of color grabbers/catchers on hand.  One of the Christmas fabrics had a lot of  dye ready to ruin a quilt!  First round through the wash, the 2 catchers came out looking like this:

And this is why I prewash

I tell you what, I continue to be a believer of pre-washing because of this!  I washed that fabric about 4 more times, setting it with vinegar each load; and then 2 rinses !  I had one fabric that had pink/white/grey/black stripes, and it was the black that washed out on that fabric.  Time to restock the supply!

Time to do a little sewing before the hubby starts looking for supper.  What is happening in your sewing room this week??

 

ps…if you want the Scrap Dance Tango; hop over to Carole’s blog for the pattern. This link will take you to the very first “clue”.  Hurry though, as she plans to pull the pattern off the blog soon, so she can sell the pattern on her ETSY  page.  🙂

One thought on “Scrap Dance Tango and other fun

  1. Pingback: Why I take photo’s along the journey | stitchinggrandma

Leave a Reply

