Another fun speaker and class

The first week of the month is always “QUILT WEEK” on my calendar. We have our Ocean Waves Quilt Guild meeting on Monday morning, with a lecture, a class on Tuesday and a board meeting on Thursday, followed up by a Quilt Show meeting the following Monday. It can seem a little overwhelming.  Unless of course you get a great speaker like Michele Scott McColligan.  She gave such a great presentation, was funny and really helped us to understand that we are not ever going to make the “perfect” quilt!  She said those “civilians” (non-quilters)  will look at your work and ohhh and ahhh.  As a “self taught” quilter, she made lots of mistakes in the process.  She is a great designer and I encourage you to look for her work in the magazines.  Michele is one of the last speakers that I had booked for the guild, and I am so happy it was a big success.

Tuesday I took a class called Usin’ Fusin’ to Express Yourself!  taught by Michele Scott McColligan.  I certainly learned a lot during the class, and was very pleased with the information given to the guild members during the class.  She and her “Quilter’s support staff”,  passed out a file folder filled with information!  I really like that, being able to take those things home and refer back later.    Michele’s website is full of information.  Also, on the Ocean Waves Quilt Guild website, we have a file with class information, and included was a list of recommend fusible materials that you might find helpful.  You will find it on page two of the PDF – Michele’s class information

There were choices of the project, working with the concepts she was teaching.  Most of those in attendance elected the “kit project”.  The kits had “everything” in them to make the projects.   Here is a sampling of some of the works –

Ginny quilting her project OWQG Class

Ginny is the current VP of Programs and classes!

Trimming the project OWQG class

 

Cindy working on her project OWQG class

OWQG Class

Suzanne's flower - OWQG

Kim's flower OWQG

 

OWQG Class

Only one person beside myself chose the “beach scene”, which was a bit “larger project”.  (If you looked at that list of Michele’s class supplies , you will see the options.)  The beach scene was 18 x 36, and you brought all your own fabrics and fusing etc.  The Fusible Flowers was an 18×20 kit.

We did some sharing of fabrics and ideas along the way. She gave me blue tulle, and I gave her aqua.  I found somebody who had just the “right blue” in their fabric collection who would share with her.  She shared a couple of the batiks with me, and also gave me a nice strip to use for my extra elements.  As you will note, my project is still “in the works”.

Mary's underwater project OWQG class

It has some other elements that I want to add, and borders too.  My classmates were eager to share yarns for couching and tulle for layering.  (Sorry about the wrinkles, it just came out of the project bin after being folded up for the ride home).

Adding some turtles

A few close ups of my water scene.  The turtles came from a fat quarter I had been holding on to for a few years!

20160607_191213

The footprints in the sand came from another “saved fat quarter”.

20160607_191157

This last picture shows the color variations in the water that were done by “layering” fabrics with fusibles. There is blue tulle netting over the water.  I free motion quilted over the blue tulle.  Lots of layers going on, but the YLI silver metallic thread and a top stitch (80/12) needle did the job.  ( I had Superior “invisible” thread in the bobbin)  I will couch some other elements along the water’s edge, and add elements to the sand and sky.  Hubby & I were discussing the “view” that I gave the project, and decided it was a “top down” view of the water, since you could see the sea life in the water. I need to pick up some light blue tulle and some “sandy” colored tulle too.  It softens the look of the project.  I was amazed at the effect you get once you start layering things.  I am a traditional quilter, so this ART stuff was out of my box, but I jumped in and had a great time.

On another note, my “new bee” The Queen Bee’s, are working on “string blocks”.  I’ve been making string blocks over the last week or so, while I gave my quilting brain a rest!  My 1.5″ box of strips was so full I couldn’t get the lid on.  It had been all packed in nice and tight, but once you put your hand in the box of strips, they seem to multiply.

Finally, last night I was able to get the lid back on. Between my sister-in-law, Carolyn and I, we got all of these done –

20160605_222706

20160605_222610

20160605_222217

20160607_213534

Carolyn made 6 or 8 during our bee and then brought home the extra papers and finished up 6 more.  After I packed up the car with the 2nd Time Around Bins on Sunday night to go to the guild meeting, I had some free time, but didn’t want to pick up on anything “BIG”.  The string blocks were perfect to work on, as the 1.5″ and other strip containers needed to be put away!  I worked on them some on Monday afternoon when I came home.  After I “unloaded” all the 2nd Time Around Bins following the guild meeting I wanted something to do.  And I worked on them on Tuesday afternoon, after I unpacked (and put away…….yes Carolyn…I put it away) my materials from the class.  Hubby was working upstairs at his hobby table finishing his “weathering project” on his railroad cars, so I hung out and did a little “mindless sewing”.  Oh Carolyn, do you see your bits of brown fabric from your trimming project in these blocks?  They made great “corners”.  (She was trimming some blocks and I would not let her throw the “scraps” away as they were still “usable”.)

These are done on “phone book” paper for foundations and have some varying strip widths.  One of our Queen Bee members enjoys pulling the papers off.  Next time our group meets we will have an assortment from our last bee and will put together a couple of quilts for charity.  These make fun quilts, and go together quickly.

That’s all for today, it is time to go spend some time with my little grand daughter and get some much needed baby snuggles!  More on Addison’s quilt when I get my next post written!  (I have Wednesday afternoon & evening to my self, so it is on my agenda!)

Until then, here is hoping your stitches are as straight as you want them to be, unless you are free motion quilting ! Happy sewing and crafting.

 

 

 

 

This was a fun class – and you can see that in the pictures of some of the group below –

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

