A great Fabric Acquisition Road Trip

I have been busy since my Hawaii cruise, and will take time later to share the fun. This is my last day with visitors since I returned. My grandchildren and  their parents came the first week I was home. The day after they departed my favorite sister in law  arrived from California.  We have enjoyed working on quilts, visiting guild Bee’s and meetings, and going on a 4 day retreat in Pennsylvania. We are wrapping up the visit with a Fabric Acquisition Road Trip in Lancaster County PA.

Our 1st stop was at The Quilt Ledger in Christiana PA.  It was a lovely ship that was easy to find near PA Route 41. The shop tended to lean to a more modern style than most of the shops around Lancaster County.  I however, went for some novelty fabrics that coordinate with a bolt of railroad track fabric I purchased last year.  I will be starting my pillowcase project soon.  I sell train motif pillowcases at the annual model railroad train open house in November and December and January.

Our 2nd quilt shop visit was to Family Farm Quilts in Ronks PA. ( although the address  is 3511 W. NEWPORT PIKE, RONKS, it really is 2 minutes away from the Kitchen Kettle Shops in Intercourse PA).  In this shop I noticed some great wide (108″) backings for less than $10 per yard.  Here I went a bit fat quarter crazy picked out bundles for my next 3 months with 2 quilt Bee’s.

Our 3rd stop I have to say was the very best. It was suggested by Cheryl Lynch that we visit Weaver Dry Goods near Lititz PA. Located on W. BRUBAKER  VALLEY ROAD, it was easy to find if you don’t ignore the GPS!!  It was worth taking the round about trip when we were able to find the shop. This is an amazingly well organized shop. There is a lower level where great bargains can be found. All novelty fabrics on the main floor are grouped by subject.  I found some  Thomas the Train fabric for pillowcases here at a reasonable price. This store was very neat, light and airy, and the fabric racks were not too high. I could reach the bolts easily and really see the colors. My #1 choice for next visit. Love all the choices of color for wide backing below  $10/yard.
Our 4th and final stop was at Burkholder Fabrics in Denver PA. This store was a sponsor of Ocean Waves Quilt Guild quilt show last year. I’ve been there twice before and they have a huge selection to choose from.  I found some lovely batiks  for a project I am planning later in the fall.  If you visit this store, come with a plan!! There is SO much going on it is overwhelming! !

We will stay over night in Lancaster County and do a bit more shopping before we head out to the airport. My sister in law shipped one project box before she came, and will be sending it home along with 2 more boxes of newly acquired fabric.  Good thing I put the packing tape in the car for the extra flat rate box. Sure beats overweight charges on the suitcase!
That’s all the news I can manage typing with my thumbs on a small screen. My apologies for the spelling.
Picture below was our view this evening from the motel in Lancaster County.

image

Hope all your stitches are straight!

8 thoughts on “A great Fabric Acquisition Road Trip

  1. The first shop is one I don’t know. I hope they’re participating in Row by Row. I’ll have to put them on the list to visit. We hit the others last year. I liked Burkholder’s better than Weaver’s. Last year was the first time I’d been there in years – much nicer than their old store.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

