Block construction completed – Allietare!

I got some time to sew today, uninterrupted by real life.   I cranked up the heaters out in the garage to make the room reasonably warm and got busy.  (It was 15 degrees Fahrenheit  outside today for the 2nd morning in a row…..brrrrr)

I have worked pretty much non-stop for the last 8 hours building my blocks from the pieces that were constructed over the last 6 weeks for the Bonnie Hunter – Quiltville – Winter Mystery Quilt Allietare 2015.

I focused on getting the “gold center” Star  blocks finished first and putting them on the design wall – on point.  As I mentioned in the last blog post I built them much like 9 patches.  My design wall was full of “inspiration” items that I had to clear off before I could actually get up on the step stool and start putting these blocks on point.

2016-01-06_09-13-20

Then I went to work on the alternate blocks – called Echoes of Pisa in the pattern.   If you remember back to the beginning in Clue 1,  I chose to use green instead of gray as the pattern calls for.  With the green, I don’t think it gives you the feel of the Leaning Tower of Pisa that Bonnie Hunter was going for, but it does give me the feel of Italy.    I was inspired to go with the green and the brown (pattern called for gray & black) when I found this piece of fabric in the bags of scraps my friends had given to me. So far, it hasn’t made it’s way into the quilt, but I am certain I will find a way to incorporate it on the back of the quilt.  It is nearly a fat quarter in size, so I am thinking about how I will make that happen.                                    2016-01-06_09-25-02

Tuscany is full of those wonderful rolling hills and vineyards, and  that is what this fabric made me think about when I was pulling my fabrics initially last October.

I was able to get all 50 blocks  made and set out on the design wall as they will be joined.

2016-01-06_09-12-49

I need to cut the red fabric  and  place them for the setting triangles. There are also edge pieces that are made, just not set up on the wall yet.  (I had to put the whole thing up “side ways” as it is so large.)   I think I will save that job for tomorrow after I re-read the directions again.  Then I can “get going” with stitching the rows together.  I think my “row marker pins” will get put to use tomorrow!

Time to turn out the lights and lower the heater settings and head in to the house for the night.

Hope you have a good day of stitching today!

Note; Pattern is by Bonnie Hunter – http://www.quiltville.blogspot.com – Allietare Winter Mystery Quilt 2015.  More info can be found on Bonnie’s blog.  Pattern is free until February 1, 2016. If you go to the link ,  Allietare  and the pattern information is not posted any longer, it must be after Feb 1st.   If you missed the pattern, you should be able to get back to see the link -up — Mystery Monday link up reveal

11 thoughts on “Block construction completed – Allietare!

  1. Yours is very beautiful. Thank you for sharing your progress. I enjoy seeing them all. Mine is going to take awhile. I’m just getting started. Thank you again. Valerie

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is gorgeous with the green! And that found fabric that reminds you of the rolling hills. I can’t wait to see how you incorporate it on the back. It really brings all your colors together. I’m flying home today, and it will take me another day to get home, but I’m pulling that machine out of my suitcase and getting to it on Saturday! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Deborah!! I hope your trip home was good, and your upcoming move doesn’t interfere too much with your desire to start sewing again. The back is going to have to wait a bit for me to “finish the front”. 🙂

      Like

  3. Your inspiration pieces matches Bonnie’s Allietare button almost perfectly. Your color palette works perfectly. it’s been fun to see how all the different tweaks to the color palette change the look of the quilt.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Scrap Dance Tango Mystery Quilt | stitchinggrandma

Leave a Reply

