Christmas Quilt Along Table Runner on the Table

 Every Friday,  Bonnie Hunter gives out another clue in the Quiltville Winter Mystery 2015 – Allietare . ( Allietare Mystery quilt ). Since “Black Friday”, I anxiously await for the next clue!  Today, Clue 4 came out.  Before I could even THINK about starting any cutting, I wanted to get my Christmas Table Runner finished.  (Here is my logic:  I saved the clue, printed it out, and got busy with my Christmas Table Runner.   I knew that if I started Clue 4, then the table runner would be “pushed to the side” again!  I figured I am managing to keep up with the clues, and if I get behind now, at least the table runner is finished!)

The table runner project started back in mid-November when Carole, at “From My Carolina Home” on WordPress invited her followers to Quilt Along. If this project interests you, you might want to start at this link:  From the beginning .   She gave us the instructions over the course of 4 weeks on Friday’s.

I’ve had the top made for 2 weeks, but have been busy with other things, and needed to piece the back and get it layered and quilted and bound.  

Here is my finished project.  As previously mentioned, I went “scrappy” using up those “gifted”  bits of fabric my friends share.  I only pulled a few neutral fat quarters and fabric for the border and backing from my stash.

Table runner

The quilting shows a little better on the back.

back of the runner

As usual, I had to add an “element” to the back of the quilt too, using leftover squares and strips.

Pieced back

The photo below was taken with a flash, and the project looks “flat”.  I find that interesting that the quilting flattens out in the photo with the flash.  

on the table

I have several prior posts about this project if you are a new visitor to my blog. If you would like to see those posts, follow these links.  Christmas Quilt Along and  here.

note – binding is done using Susie’s Magic binding .  If you would like a tutorial, look here:  Susie’s Magic Binding Tutorial

Now, I can proceed to Clue 4 …….

9 thoughts on “Christmas Quilt Along Table Runner on the Table

  1. I had a marvelous time creating the table runner from Carole’s sight! I still have not gotten the binding on mine. Hoping to get to it today. Your table runner turned out magnificent! The fabrics you chose are really pretty! Thank you for sharing and have a wonderful creative day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Judy. I have used a pen made by jacquardproducts.com- called Tee Juice Fine Point Fabric Art Marker, it is archival, light fast, washable, dry-cleanable. You heat set with iron on fabric. You might find them at Micheals, AC Moore, JoAnn’s or Hobby Lobby. The tip is a lot like older style felt tips tho, and doesn’t keep the fine point for very long. Look at the hobby stores and look for one that has the features the Tee Juice Fine Point has, but with a better tip. I have also used sharpies and heat set them. The quilts we do with our church are signed by members with sharpies. We also heat set them. Be sure to have something UNDER the fabric when using a pen. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Wow, I’m so glad you did, because then I came over here and saw this beautiful table runner. I love your colors. They seem to make the stars shimmer a little, or sparkle. That is a real beauty! My favorite signing pen is a Zig Millennium. It is archival, too, comes in several point widths, and has a hard tip that makes it easy to write.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am glad I found you too. Thanks for the kind words on the table runner. It was totally out of the scrap boxes. The pattern designer suggested Christmas fabrics, and that is a challenge for me, but I did find some suitable I think. I will share the info about the signing pen with my friend Judy @ newenglandgardenandthread.wordpress.com . She will appreciate the input.

      Like

Leave a Reply

