Allietare Mystery Clue 3 complete – Holiday decoration started!!

My efforts for Quiltville Winter Mystery Quilt – Allietare   Clue 3 are satisfactory!  The blocks are complete and I was pleased with the process!!  No whining, as there is a $5 charge by Bonnie Hunter if she catches you!  Her tips and techniques with every clue are wonderful and make you feel like you are “in the classroom” with her.  Linking up to Bonnie Hunter’s blog today – Mystery Link Up

Because I started with my “smaller pieces”,  I was able to get a bit scrappier with my 4 patches.  I humbly thank those friends who toss their unloved and unwanted scraps to me!  I also thank my quilt-bee friends who swap fat quarters at our Material Girls Bee.  I did cut into some yardage, but only a couple of strips for the neutrals and a couple for the gold.  Even small pieces left over from our Senior Quilts found a place to be used in these blocks. As long as the piece was at least 2″x 2″ and was gold or neutral, I used it.  I cut some gold from fat quarters, and they were perfect for cutting into strips, then layering on the small pieces.  Not much waste that way.
Clue 3 complete

I did all the 2 patches on Saturday and all the 4 patches on Sunday afternoon.  They measure up perfectly thanks to my new “tool”.  Scant quarter inch

I used a stack of post it notes to give my seam guide a nice edge, and lots of painters tape to “hold it still”.  The beauty of this little tool is I can peel up the “guide” and remove it, and then come back later and set it up again.  Ok,  it is not pretty, but this is how I finally managed to get those pieces on Clue 2 finished!

Perkins perfect piecing seam guide

So, here is the collections of bits and pieces so far-

Clue 1,2 and 3 are finished

Stop in on Bonnie’s blog and check out the other folks posts to see how they are doing!  If you want more information on the Winter Mystery Quilt – you will find it here – Allietare Mystery info

I have not sewn a stitch today.  I did rip out all the binding stitches yesterday on “My Little Blue Bird”….that is a story for another day.   Hubby and I were summoned to be “state witnesses” at a trial today. We witnessed an accident back in March, and the court date has been delayed multiple times.  Today, we spent 2 hours doing our civic duty, on some very hard benches, and the defendant failed to show up. Seriously, the summons said to be there “15 mins early” for an 8:30 am trial. The darn doors to the courthouse don’t even open until 8:30. We both enjoyed the “people watching” that occurs as the “business end” of the court takes place. Nice apology from the judge for “wasting our time.”  Imagine, 4 witness and no defendant.  Annoying!!!    So, we will no doubt be summoned to the court house again in the future.  We deserved a nice breakfast “out” afterward, and a walk through the local Antique store.  Good thing the courthouse is only a very short distance from the house.

This afternoon, we decided to came home and to put a little Christmas decor in the house.  Still working on that project!  Darn tree took the whole day and we just have some of the lights on ! I was inspired again by the beautiful poinsettia trees we saw last week at Longwood gardens, so I got out my box of poinsettia lights.  Apologies for  the ladder and the white glare on the tree.  The lights are all red, and I don’t see why the centers would show as white in the photo.  We have some white lights getting ready to go on next to soften the red glow, and some golden bead garland. Haven’t decided yet about the ornaments.  With over 1/2 of our garage upstairs full of decorations, the decision on what to use is tough. It better be something we LOVE, because it won’t come down until mid-January!  I got on a kick about 7 years ago and bought a bunch of poinsettia lights…wishing I had more!  I think I will stick to the red, gold and white, and keep the tree “simple” this year.

Because the weather was a glorious 75 degrees today, I decided to get busy and wash the living room windows inside and out before beginning the decorating.  Had to engage hubby to lift the big old windows and fuss with the storm windows too.  We have 12 ft ceilings, and very large tall windows.  I have never washed windows in December before!  But, well worth the effort I think! We have 3 wreaths hung, and I think they turned out nicely!  I counted wreath boxes in the garage…way too many for normal people.  I must remember to change them out periodically.

Christmas wreath

Window wreath

Front door wreath

Well, time to get a nice stiff drink and go hang more lights……..hope you are having a pleasant evening!!

 

 

9 thoughts on “Allietare Mystery Clue 3 complete – Holiday decoration started!!

  1. I agree!!! I sorted a bag of goodies today into different color “waves” and got excited when I saw Bonnie Hunter’s pictures today with her “string pieces”. I have quite a collection of fun green fabrics in the pile! I always tease my gifting friends when I make something out of fabric they gave me!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Allietare Winter Mystery Quilt progress – Pattern reveal | stitchinggrandma

Leave a Reply

