In between things 5.5″ squares

The first week of the month is “QUILT GUILD” week.  We have our meeting on Monday, a class on Tuesday and the board meeting on Thursday.  I try not to schedule much else, but I did sneak in a visit to a guild member and spend some time in her “over the garage” quilt room.  She has a beautiful space with a long arm and two lovely tables big enough for laying out a quilt to mark patterns on, etc.  Our time was spent chatting about all the “stuff” you need to have to use your embroidery machine and how to  get those embroidery files from the computer to a flash drive to the machine.  If you haven’t read my post from earlier in the summer,   Embroidery Machine Resources , you will find some useful information.  It was fun to share with my guild friend as she got ready to go off to an embroidery machine class!

Following meetings this week, cleaning up after my Table Runner class project, I did a bit more cutting of the scraps and storage.

I un-earthed a basket of “bonus triangles” left over from the Grand Illusion Mystery Quilt(s).  I sat down and started trimming those Thursday evening, and before you could count, I had 100+ half-square triangles trimmed to 1.5″.  I stitched a couple up into pinwheels, but wasn’t sure that is what I wanted to do.

Then I looked at my scrap storage box of 1.5″ squares and a light bulb went off.  I decided to make some more blocks from the Scrap Dance Finish.  That pattern was all 2.5″, but if I  used my 1.5″ squares …what would I get and how hard would it be to handle those little bits.  Remember now, I just took a class where they used a grid for small pieces.  Well, I didn’t buy any of the smaller grid, and I figured I could press on without it.

the "A" block from Scrap Dance done in 1.5" squares

the “A” block from Scrap Dance done in 1.5″ squares

"B" block Scrap Dance

“B” block Scrap Dance  This finished as a  5.5″ block.

I made 2 blocks Friday evening, and 3 more Saturday evening.

Scrap Dance 5.5" blocks

Scrap Dance 5.5″ blocks

It was fun to sit and sort the different bits in the boxes, going “controlled scrappy” for these. (Now there are little stacks all over the top of my desk in various color waves).

My hubby asked how many  of these little blocks I was going to make and I haven’t decided.  I do have about 200 more half-square triangles trimmed up, so a few more for certain!  I might make a few more later this afternoon.  They are a nice “bridge” between projects.  I like taking a break from cutting scraps to do a little sewing.  I am pleased with how these turned out so far.

Using the scrap storage system and actually turning those bits and pieces into something fun makes it worth all the effort. Watch for a future post where I talk about my storage methods.  I did write several blog posts in January 2014, about my  Scrap Storage System , and what I considered as I “cut the scraps”.  Since then I have modified what I store and how I store. Natural progression I think, but I will update in the future on my method.

I still have scraps to clean up and cut and put away.  I have 2 baskets of “bits” left over from the Grand Illusion Mystery Quilt from last winter and MUST put them away in the next few days! I need my “project box” empty so I can be ready for the NEXT Bonnie Hunter Mystery Quilt ! Sometime in October the colors get announced.  If I have a mess on the cutting table I won’t do the project! It’s a bit like raking leaves, you have to hurry and finish before more fall or you might give up!

What are you sewing today?

Notes: Scrap Dance Quilt Along was a mystery quilt running between March and September 2015 by Caroline at “From My Carolina Home”.  There is a button on the right side of my blog to take you to her page.

Grand Illusion Mystery Quilt was a Bonnie Hunter pattern running from Thanksgiving to New Years in 2014. The pattern is no longer available on her blog, but will be in a future book or on  Bonnie Hunter’s website.

 

6 thoughts on “In between things 5.5″ squares

  1. I’m working on a doll quilt for a UK blogging friend, then I need to do two pillows, binding for my quilt, and then two fleece robes lined in flannel. LOL But, yesterday I went to a fantastic quilt shop, Keepsake Quilting in Meredith, NH. I think you could have spent several hours there. It was a candy shop for fabric lovers. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, love your list!! I have bathrobe fabric for 3 grands washed and ready to cutout & sew, 2 super hero capes hopefully before Halloween this year too! Must focus. Oh sew jealous of your trip to Keepsake Quilting. I get their catalogs and drool! Have fun with your doll quilt!! Photos??

      Like

  2. I love bridges like this between projects. Today, I’m working on some lap quilts I’m making as Christmas gifts for my son and his family in St. Louis. I’m using a stack of orphan blocks, some of which go back about 10 years.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m working on the same old “HST Hell” quilt…maybe that’s what I’ll name it instead of Shifting Shadows.” I also want to work on the easy Pineapple that I blogged about a few weeks ago, and I have a secret project that I’m eager to start as a gift for a friend, that has to remain hush-hush because she occasionally reads this blog. Oh, and I have to put away my haul from a rare trip to Joanne’s (it’s close to 100 miles one way, but we were going down there for a party anyway). Nothing really exciting purchased, but I had a 20% off entire order coupon. This may be my last trip. I found their fabric selection has really been a disappointment lately. Maybe I’m just getting jaded.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sounds like a busy time. Our bus trip to Lancaster next week is one I am looking forward to. I am going to stock up on neutrals. I never have “enough”. I prefer Hancock or Hobby Lobby over JoAnn’s any day! Smile at the HST and sit in front of the tv or out in the sun!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

