New Log Cabin Cross Banner

When I went visiting out West I had the opportunity to attend church services with my daughter, son in law and grandchildren.  It was such an inspiring series of services.  The first 2 services were held in the basement of a family home, with about 35 people in attendance. Chairs lined up, a folding table to hold the communion and a simple podium for the Pastor to give the sermon.  This was a mission church, and they had spent 10 years meeting in various locations while they grew large enough to afford a building of their own.  I got the opportunity to study the structure they were to move into and was surprised to see another simple facility.  This congregation understood that gathering together, in the community of Christ did not have to take place in a lofty structure.  Christ was present in that basement of a family home.  While waiting for the service to begin, I thought of the very beginnings of Christianity, and the tenant that where ever two or more gather in His name, Christ is present.  During my subsequent visit last month, the congregation met somewhere else. The first time in a community center building. Again, I could feel the presence of Christ.  My last opportunity to worship with this group was their very first service in their OWN church building.  It was wonderful.  10 years of effort had paid off.  As I looked around I wondered what I could offer to this group.  Having just made a banner for my daughters Godchild (see the post Baptism Banner), I thought I would like to make something similar and offer it to the Pastor for his study, or a classroom or a hallway.  I felt called to give something in offering to the Glory of God.

So, here is the beginnings of my simple offering.  I chose the colors based on what was being used in the sanctuary and fellowship hall.  I have  2 more borders to put on tomorrow, then I will get it quilted and bound and in the mail.  I hope you feel the presence of Christ in your life when you worship at your local church.

Blessings.

Log Cabin Cross

Log Cabin Cross

 

Mote of thanks to Irene where she offered this free pattern on her blog “Sweet Seasons of Life”. Click the link to get the  Pattern for log cabin cross

 

 

2 thoughts on “New Log Cabin Cross Banner

  1. Mary, you’ve done many beautiful projects and for many compassionate reasons, but this one rises right up to the top of your list of accomplishments. I am always in awe of your work with your family, the local graduates, men and women in our armed forces, and the quilt for the little boy who lost his dad brought tears to my eyes. But I must say, this is a wonderful gift that will be enjoyed by a congregation of people gather in the Lord’s name – it doesn’t get any better than that. You’ve done good again, Mary. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

