My Quilt Show entries

Tomorrow I deliver my entries for the quilt show our guild is having in Lewes Delaware on Friday and Saturday; July 17 & 18 2015.  Click this link for more information: Ocean Waves Quilt Guild Show information .  There are over 250 quilts entered, and about 20 vendors to satisfy the shopping urge.  If you are inspired to visit, you won’t be disappointed.

I have 6 projects that I entered for the show.  If you have read my blog for any length of time, then you have seen these all before, though not all were in finished state when I showed them last.  All of these projects were pieced and quilted on my Janome 8900.  I have spent most of June and early July finishing up with quilting and binding 2 quilts; and getting show hanging pockets and show labels made and hand-stitched on.  I had to make myself a spreadsheet so I was able to keep track of where I was at with each of these quilts.  The last one pictured I asked my friend for permission to enter it in the show, and she mailed it back to me.

The show theme is  Paying it Forward, the challenge was to create a red/white/blue quilt to show, and if willing, to donate it to Quilts of Valor.

So, here is the one I decided to make using Moda Primitive Gatherings fabrics and a Bonnie Hunter pattern called Ohio Stars and Rails. This pattern is from – Bonnie Hunter blog  free pattern tab.  I changed the center of the stars and borders to gold, and added the piano key border.  The back is made with the leftover fabrics.

Ohio Stars & Rails QOV

Ohio Stars & Rails QOV

My next entry is the second Grand Illusion Mystery Quilt that I made.  Again a pattern by Bonnie Hunter – I modified the setting again with this GIMQ#2. I added solid borders around the blocks and solid sashing; and moved the green checkerboard sashing out to make a border.  I eliminated one row of the final border. Note; the Grand Illusion Mystery Quilt ran from November to January, and is no longer available on Bonnie’s blog.  It will be published at a later date in a book.

Grand Illusion Mystery Quilt # 2

Grand Illusion Mystery Quilt # 2

My third entry is a log cabin, in a barn raising layout. There were lots of stories about this quilt on my blog during the winter and spring if you take a look.  My favorite part about this quilt is the scrappy border.

Finished twin size purple log cabin 12" blocks Barn Raising pattern

Finished twin size purple log cabin 12″ blocks Barn Raising pattern

Quilt # 4 & 5 are projects from classes I took with the Guild last spring —

Flowers in the Snow; pattern by Weeks Ringle / Bill Kerr titled SNOWDRIFT

Flowers in the Snow; pattern by Weeks Ringle / Bill Kerr titled SNOWDRIFT

Barn Raising in Silk  27 x 39"

Barn Raising in Silk
27 x 39″

and my last entry is the oldest of the projects – a piece done as a memory quilt –

T-shirt quilt Full quilt out on the porch

T-shirt quilt made in honor of Edward J. Mahoney

So, my quilts are each bundled in a labeled pillowcase, ready to drop off at the guild meeting tomorrow.

I invite you to click the link to the quilt show information, http://oceanwavesquiltguild.org/qs15.html   and find out a little bit more about the show, and the projects we support as a guild.

Happy stitching.

 

7 thoughts on “My Quilt Show entries

    • ROAD TRIP…. just think of all the quilt shops between there and here….. I wish you were closer too Lillian!! I’ll take lots of photos & post them! Thanks for taking the time to read my blog too. 🙂

      Like

    • Just stop on the way and pick up Lillian (Quilt32) ! Thanks for the kind remark about my quilts. I love the piecing of the projects and am learning to manage my own quilting on my domestic sewing machine, but certainly am a novice quilter. My goal is to show other beginners that their work can be in a show too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

