Love and Laugh Quilt

A good friend of mine got married yesterday!  My sister’s all called him the “Corona Man”….remembering when he brought 3 bottles of Corona, ice cold, to me & my girls as we sat in the surgical waiting area.  There we sat; sipping and trying to relax while someone we loved was undergoing a terrible surgery in what was to be his last 2 weeks of life.  My buddy, the “Corona Man” helped us all during the worst possible days of our lives.  My one daughter tells how he “answered the call” when asked WHERE is the pepperoni in the Commissary?  He had the answer for her then; just as he had my back at work when there were shifts to be covered and I was out on bereavement leave.  A good friend.  Four years ago, he met his future bride, and their first date was a wine tasting.  So, yesterday; as we attended their wedding at a local winery, I was happy to share this gift with him & his lovely bride.

It is a throw sized quilt- 60×65.  I had a lot of fun creating it for the two of them.  I picked the fabrics to reflect their love of wine!

I had fun with the fabrics –

My inspiration fabric - bottles and settings of various wine

My inspiration fabric – bottles and settings of various wine

The border fabric

Wine Corks for the borders

Wine Corks for the borders

and some pretty fabric to compliment the feature fabric

Roses for the bride

Roses for the bride

 

I thought they went well together.  Now, when I went shopping on MONDAY  (6 days before the wedding); I wasn’t sure what I was going to make, but I knew the fabric would talk to me, and it did.  I just made sure to buy PLENTY.

I had fun putting this together, getting all the blocks cut out and some rail fences made with additional fabrics from the stash.  I had it cut and up on the design wall by Tuesday evening.  On Wednesday morning; my design critic (aka hubby) helped me tweak the layout.   We settled on the layout below.

 

a quilt or a table runner

a quilt or a table runner

Hubby thought that a table runner would be just the right thing; but I had all those rail fence blocks made, and all those other blocks cut out (6.5″ by the way).  So, I went big!

Final Layout

Final Layout

 

And then decided since I had enough, I would add the cork fabric as a border!   When it came time to get a backing fabric, I was able to pull the plaid fabric out of my stash.  (That was a lucky break, because by this point it was Thursday !)  I had 3 1/2 yards of it, and I knew I would have to add a seam, so I added a little fun bringing the front of the quilt into the backing with extra fabric….

I thought the cork border and cork binding needed a  little extra pizazz so I did “Susies Magic Binding” and used the green rose fabric for the piping.  I like it!!  That backing fabric really worked well I think!  But, before I could quilt & bind it, I had to “run to the church fellowship hall” on Friday morning, bright and early and get it layered.  The big banquet tables are just what I needed, and my friend who works there, Mary Lu, gave me a hand. We had it pin basted and I was back home within 2 hours.

a little binding

a little binding

Notice the sun is still shining while I was putting the binding on !! (This method you stitch to the back first).  I took a break to eat dinner, and then went back out to the sewing room to finish up; joining the ends with that great BINDING TOOL.  (Love Jenny Doan at Missouri Star and her videos; which I watch EVERY time I use that tool).

Joining the ends

Joining the ends

Got it joined, and I always PRESS the binding on the back side up and towards the edge. It just seems to make it turn better.  I always use the red clover binding clips after I do the pressing and roll the binding to the front and clip into place.

Cork border and binding

Cork border and binding

Got it stitched down and done by 10 pm!  I was TIRED….

a little break after 14 hours on Friday

a little break after 14 hours on Friday

and then, on Saturday morning…6 hours before the wedding…..I made the labels and got them stitched on the back of the quilt.  I had to think long and hard about how to name this quilt.

In hindsight, I should have used a darker thread for the name & date on the label with the wedding ring.  I was disappointed with it and how light it was against the green fabric.    The quilt is named Love & Laugh; because I think that with Love in your life; Laughter will follow. And anybody that knows the groom, knows he will have you laughing…and the bride will have to LOVE HIM A LOT to put up with those jokes of his over the next 50 years!

Two hours before the wedding; the quilt was ready to go.  (Now, usually I cut the jump strings on the embroidery; and wash a quilt before gifting; but I flat ran out of time….)

Love and Laugh  for Ron & Terri

Love and Laugh for Ron & Terri

Overall; I am pleased with the outcome.  I did some simple straight quilting and managed to pull it off in 6 days.  You would think I would rest on Sunday…the 7th day….well, maybe a bit.  After church today, I am going to be working with the “senior quilters” to get the last of 3 quilts tied; and start binding one. It is fun to sew with friends, so it will not seem like work today.  Hope you enjoyed the story of the Love & Laugh Quilt.  Oh, by the way; the wedding was lovely, and the bride was beautiful .  It was wonderful to see my buddy Ron so darn happy.  I’ve shown “snippets” of this quilt during the week, but never very much of it since it was a gift.   I hope they have opened their gifts this morning BEFORE they see my posts on Facebook!!!

4 thoughts on “Love and Laugh Quilt

  1. I did have to chuckle at how you push yourself AND always meet the deadline. I’m sure they were thrilled. I can also make you feel better about your label. I made a label this week for my Amsterdam quilt putting the cut away on the back of the fabric and the wash away on the front with an extra piece floating underneath. Except, the floater moved off center and the cut away was wash away. Laughed myself silly at such a stupid mistake and then I had this lovely tulip label with the quilt name, my name and date, and it was all bunched up. Oh well, I ironed it out the best I could and It went right on the back. It’s not perfect, just like me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for stopping in to read Judy! Nothing like last minute Mary!! Oh how I understand the struggle with the embroidery machine. I learned that a new needle is your friend. Also, the Water Soluable Stabilizer can be “bigger” than you need and use a couple of Pins to hold it in place outside the hoop on the edge of the fabric coming over the hoop. Now that darn floating piece…wonder why it slipped?? I am down to my last 10 or 20 squares of the medium weight tear away that I bought 2 years ago. I have found it makes all the difference in the fabric getting wrinkles. Quilting Cotton seems to pull if there isn’t enough stabilizer. I have started to use Floriani stabilizers and am going to a seminar in June, hoping to learn more about the products and the “art of machine embroidery”. (I’m sure my hubby thinks I will come home with another machine…scares him a bit!)

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! It was fun to make! I surprised myself by pulling a few fabrics to go with those cork blocks out of my stash that were perfect matches with the colors in the wine bottle fabric. My favorite “found” fabric was a piece that was muted grape leaves!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

