Quilt Retreat Fun!

I spent Tuesday – Friday last week at the annual Ocean Waves Quilt Guild Retreat in Ocean City Maryland.  We checked in on Tuesday afternoon at the Dunes Manor Hotel and deposited our machines and assorted gear in our hotel room. (If you are ever looking for a lovely place to stay – this is IT!)  This hotel treats our group so well.

Tuesday evening was all social, and we had lovely small groups going to dinner in various locations around town.  I enjoyed dinner at Touch of Italy, with a Caprese salad.  That is a restaurant chain I will return to soon.  The rest of our meals were included at the hotel as part of our retreat, and my goodness they have wonderful food .  They have “tea” every afternoon; and happy hour in the bar, so how can you go wrong!!!

We had lovely rooms with great views of the beach and the sunrise and moonrise. I was on the 3rd floor and could still hear the sound of the waves!! Almost as good as a cruise ship balcony!!! (Did I mention it got down to 17 degrees at night?)

We started Wednesday morning about 9 am; and finished up at noon on Friday.  I decided not to work on the “class projects” but to concentrate my time on getting the quilting done on a twin quilt I made in October last year. (I wrote about it once before here – https://stitchinggrandma.wordpress.com/2014/11/02/a-peak-at-october/   )

I quilted everything except the border and cornerstones, so I think it was a productive time.  (I started quilting this in October at a get-away; spent a full day on it; then packed it away until this retreat).  I used a stitch on my machine designated as a quilting stitch; and went around each LOG in the log cabin quilt, starting at the center of the block. I used  Fantastico # 5021  varigated thread from Superior Threads on the top. It is a 40 weight thread and was turquoise and purple with a hint of green.  I used Superior Bottom Line Periwinkle # 608 in the bobbin. It was a 60 weight thread.  It really disappears on the back of the quilt.  I am still considering my plan for the wide border and cornerstones.  I have enough of these 2.5″ strips left to do a scrappy binding, and I think that will be fun to do!  If you click on the photo’s you can see a bit more of the stitching.


I did mention FUN in the title of this blog post. Let me tell you – 26 quilters – a room full of laughter; and at times; a whisper quiet room while they concentrated on their projects. The group projects were “You’ve Got Mail” and “Coneflowers”. Check out the activity in this room!  As you look around, you will see the CONEFLOWERS being worked on. It really is an art quilt.  There were two samples taped to the wall; one with pink and one with orange flowers.

The ONLY picture I got of a “You’ve Got Mail” –  She was using every available inch to lay out the quilt to get an idea of how the “envelopes” looked.

You've Got Mail in batik

You’ve Got Mail in batik

There were others working on their own projects; and lots of progress made!  I only got a couple of pictures of the individual projects.

Can’t wait for next year’s retreat!! Maybe I will have the projects I started at last year’s retreat finished and I will be able to work on something new.
Happy stitching!

12 thoughts on “Quilt Retreat Fun!

    • Oh Lillian, if I wasn’t sworn to secrecy, there are some stories I could tell!! We had 26 women who all got along well; no squabbles and laughter like you couldn’t believe. Not the kind of quilt bee my grandma would go to; but I bet she would have had a ball too!

      Like

    • It was a great time!! I love the fellowship with my quilting friends almost as much as having the dedicated time to sew! The views were just as breathtaking from the sewing room where we worked. A little mini-vacation; 35 miles from home!!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. You’ve inspired me to schedule at least a personal quilting retreat in the next little while. Lovely stuff! So glad you went and had such a wonderful and productive time. Thanks, too for sharing. Love the photos (and the colors in your quilt)!

    Like

Leave a Reply

