Is it really Spring ??

Gerber Daisy

Gerber Daisy

The sunshine is abundant this morning!  It is also finally above 40 degrees.  SPRING may finally be here.  Last night we had another freeze warning, and people all over the area were covering their outside plants or bringing them back into the house. Hoping for mid 50’s today.  My hubby gave me some new lilac’s to plant in the yard for my birthday and I am hoping it warms up enough to get out in the yard and do that today. Yesterday, on Easter, a dear friend gave me a Dinner Plate Dahlia to plant along with a beautiful orange Gerber daisy.  Our ‘last frost’ date is May 15th according to the Farmers Almanac, so I think the Gerber daisy will have to stay in the house for a bit.

Seems one of my cats has tasted a leaf of the Gerber daisy during the night, and I need to find a place to “keep it in the light” but out of the reach of said cat.  Maybe on top of the microwave…near a window….out of their usual prowling space.

Do you have cats that like to prowl during the night into places that you never seem to find them during the day?  I have these mysterious happenings during the night…pencils removed and relocated to under the kitchen table; paw prints on the stove, and such.  When they were kittens we used to put them to “bed” in the laundry room, and close them in for the night.  They were really climbers as “toddlers”. We have a shelf in the dining room that my husband keeps his “collectibles” on, and I have found them climbing up the wicker legs of the shelf. When one of his items crashed to the floor, we wrapped the wicker legs with foil to inhibit the climbers.  I decided they need a climbing shelf of their own and bought one of those things from the pet store and parked it in the laundry room.  definitely they needed a better place than my chair legs to do their scratching, and this had rope wrapped posts to do the same.  (Until about 2 years ago we were PET FREE…..when we got adopted by a stray momma cat with 2 kittens….and then a 12-year-old Rottweiler in the final years of her life).

One of our cats (Momma Cat) was not a good fit “in the house” as she was just too wild.  We have given her a nice home, a heated cat igloo house, outside, and has now become the nicest, lovely cat ever. You walk out the door and the old girl runs to greet you and waits for you to stop and pet her.  She used to be such a scared cat!  And because we feed her outside, and she doesn’t eat all her food in one sitting, there is often food left in her bowl, and another stray has ventured into the yard and eats the leftovers.  I chase him away, and he returns to clean Momma Cat’s bowl. I swear I am not befriending another cat!  The first 3 cost me a fortune in vet bills to get them spayed, nutered, shots etc.  So, how do you prevent the new stray from hanging around for a free meal?  I have decided I am not up for chasing or trapping this one or the vet bills involved with keeping it, shots, nutering etc.  It could be someones pet I suppose.  So, for now, I will ignore it, chase it out of the yard, etc.  I keep thinking do I put out less food for Momma Cat, so she is hungrier at feeding time or more food since she is subject to sharing?

Well, time to go play in the sewing room this morning!  Bunting beckons me~!~  Then I will be sorting through old costume jewelry for “decorations” for “crowns” for a 4-year-old birthday party!

I’ve got a couple of “FOR ME” projects in mind once the birthday party goodies are sorted out.  I just downloaded a pattern for a bag: http://www.popularpatchwork.com/news/article/sweet-sixteen/5448/   (Bag is called sweet 16) – It uses 32 charm squares (5×5).  Already I am thinking how to add some interfacing in the handle and between the layers, knowing it might be way too soft.  And I think it needs a little quilting too.  🙂   I think that is on my list of things to make soon….thinking it would go together easily in an afternoon.  (Or like my friend Judy  of her 1 day project that took 5 days….it may take me a week to do it.  )

Hoping the afternoon warms up enough to plant.  If not today, then tomorrow afternoon, when it is supposed to hit 70 degrees!  !   My garden needs the winter leaves cleared out, our daffodils are finished and the tulips managed to bloom in spite of all the leaves at their feet.  Oh, and my Sedum still has flower heads that I need to remove from last fall. (  I save them once they dried out to use in the model rail road “tree making”.  The fella’s at the model railroad club use a lot of plant materials on the train displays in interesting ways.)

Time to get busy and go play in the sewing room!! Hope your Easter was a beautiful celebration of the blessing that we have in Jesus Christ and his plan of salvation for all who follow Him.

2 thoughts on “Is it really Spring ??

  1. Hi Mary, I thought I would pop over to your blog and see what you have been up to and also reply to your comment left on my blog. You had asked about my quilt bee. The one I am in this year is a virtual bee meaning everyone is connected thru the internet and none of us live near one another. Mine is called Stash Bee, I believe there is a link to it on my sidebar. At the beginning of the year every one that was interested in joining emailed the main lady who then puts everyone into a hive. This year there were a total of 12 hives and each hive has 11 people. We sign up for which month we would prefer to be the queen of (meaning picking a block that everyone in your hive makes and then mails to your home address) There is only 11 members in each hive because we take the month of December off due to the holidays. All bees are different some that I have seen require the queen for the month to mail out the fabric to be used in their block along with instructions. The bee I am in Stash bee we are a quilt bee that uses up our stash so the queen for the month will give her block instructions then request certain colors or prints in the block but you pull the fabric from your stash. One thing that is cool about the virtual bee you get people in your bee from all over the world. In my Hive of 11 most are from the US but one is from New Zealand, and another lives in Germany. So next month being my turn I will decide what type of block I want everyone to make for me. I will post a photo and instructions on how to make the block. I post it to the stash bee blog. This is where all the bees in my hive will check for instructions and also any updates. We also have a flickr group where people will post their block photos and use it for discussions. Once everyone in my hive send me my blocks I then put them all together in a quilt for myself. Some people will put them together and use for a charity or maybe a gift they plan to give to someone. I was in a virtual bee a few years ago and everyone in the group all had the “Modern Block” quilt book and we only chose a block from that book when it was our month to request a block. There are a lot of options for quilt bees thru the internet. I am looking forward to when my daughter gets a little older and I have more time available to join a local bee. The one I have seen around here meets in the evenings and I just am not able to do that at this time. Ok I probably wrote to much and you probably already know most of what I wrote.

    My cat Cosmo loves to eat plants and flowers. On occasion my husband will bring me home a bouquet and Cosmo is all over it. Hope the weather warms up enough for you to start planting.

    Like

  2. Wow Tami, that looks like serious organizing!! What a wonderful way to meet new people around the world. I’ve never done a virtual bee, not sure if I could keep up, along with the other things I am doing. My “want to sew” list is so long now. I am following along with Pat Sloan on 3 different blocks of the month, and it is nearly May and I haven’t stitched one. So, for now I will save them in a file and put them in my ‘someday” list. I bet you are having a lot of fun working with so many other people, and exploring new patterns too. I enjoyed your reply, and will think using some of the concepts with our “in person” bee.

    Like

Leave a Reply

