S.I.P. update

Spent the day building my blocks into tidy 4 patches. Once that was finished, I started putting the blocks together to make rows.  I made it through 2 full rows, although the rows are not joined to each other. (Dinner and hubby need attention!)  More fun tomorrow, it is moving along quickly!

(funny how the rows “shrink” once they are formed.  When the rows are  joined they will get even smaller.  Each big block is about 15 1/2″ .  When I get a bit more finished I will break out the tape measure and decide whether another row is needed, or if I can get a usable size with the borders.  )

1st 2 rows are made, ; need to be stitched together; remaining 3 rows have blocks built; but they need to be stitched to rows.  Good progress for today.

1st 2 rows are made, ; need to be stitched together; remaining 3 rows have blocks built; but they need to be stitched to rows. Good progress for today.

As I move ahead, I won’t have to be climbing so much on the step stool (I was at the ceiling for the top row).  I will have to take time in the morning to clean off my desk, as the pieces are getting quite long and need a bit more space for laying them out to pin etc.

Messy desk next to the sewing machine~!!~

Messy desk next to the sewing machine~!!~

I want to be sure not to get a pen/ink mark or coffee smudge on them, and as it grows, I will be using every inch of the desk and the return to support the weight and bulk.  How do people do this on little tables????  Spoiled rotten by my sewing space.  🙂 This is my first quilt using my new Janome 8900; and it is doing nicely.  I do think though I might put a fresh needle in and dust out the lint before I get going in the morning. I want every advantage as I turn these blocks into a king sized quilt.

Happy stitching.

10 thoughts on “S.I.P. update

    • Thanks for stopping in. I am having fun with it. Since it is snowing like crazy today, I am going to have to motivate myself to slog out to the garage. Fingers crossed the heaters are doing their job out there in the sewing area. Yesterday was 3 socks day!
      I know you all have it so much colder, but we are tired of it here in the Mid-Atlantic. Coldest winter in a long time. Usually about 50 degrees this time of year.

      Like

    • Karen; Is your’s worse? That desk is a result of 1 week of sewing; I could kick myself because I just cleaned everything in January!! I didn’t show you the rest of the mess!~~! I am terrible about getting bins etc out and not putting things away, because I am so busy at the moment. l just shove everything to the side. My cutting table is buried now too, in left over blocks etc. Before I can even start today I have to get busy.

      Like

  1. Thanks Maria. .good thinking about the close ups. I will make it my focus tomorrow morning. Just came home from our bus trip to the Mid Atlantic quilt show. 6 + hours on the bus today and 6 at the show, tuckered out tonight.

    Like

Leave a Reply

