TUTORIAL: Twinkle Baby Quilt

Remember those scraps and the scrap storage system? Well, here is a good use for all those little blocks!! A great scrappy baby quilt! Thanks to Wedding Dress Blue for a great tutorial!

Wedding Dress Blue

Twinkle Baby Quilt

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

34-1/2″ x 34-1/2″

Time to use up some more scraps and put a twinkle into at least three sets of eyes:  yours, the mama and the  baby!

MATERIALS

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

208 scrappy 2-1/2″ squares.  As has become customary when I create baby quilts, I selected colors that coordinate  with the backing fabric. There is a wide range of colors in each grouping.  Don’t be too matchy-matchy.  Variety keeps babies from being bored.  No one wants a bored baby!

9 2-1/2″ squares for the center of the stars

72 1-1/2″ squares for the points of the stars.  I used 8 in each color grouping to match the 9 2-1/2″ squares above.

72 2-1/2″ squares background fabric (white here).  This is more than 1/3 yard, but less than 1/2 yard

1/4 yard for binding

1-1/8 yard for backing

CUTTING DIRECTIONS

1. Sort or cut from scrap 208 2-1/2″ squares.

2. From…

View original post 430 more words

4 thoughts on “TUTORIAL: Twinkle Baby Quilt

    • Deanna I enjoyed your post so much. I think reading blogs really helps when inspiration is lacking for me. Right now I have 18 items on my list, but I am using my 2.5″ squares as leader/enders. Maybe by the time I finish 2 or 3 of my big projects I will have enough 4 patches done will a twinkle quilt nearly finished.

      Like

Leave a Reply

