Fun at Ocean Waves Quilt retreat

I feel so lucky to have been able to spend a few days with 25 other women from Ocean Waves Quilt Guild at a retreat in Ocean City Maryland.  We stayed at the Dunes Manor Hotel, and were treated with such  courtesy by the staff.  Wonderful food; great desserts; all included in our fee for the retreat.  The hotel had afternoon tea each day; happy hour; and a lovely lady who played the grand piano in the middle of the lobby; and engaged everyone in a sing-a-long!  She passed out song books and everyone nearby found a place to sit and sing old favorites.

We did a lot of sewing between Wednesday noon and Friday noon.   We worked on two patterns – Summer in the Park and One Block Wonders.

Missouri Star Quilt Company has a video on the Summer in the Park – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J5WgTyqB8Pc

The pattern can be found at http://englandstreet.blogspot.com/2012/10/summer-in-park-free-jelly-roll-pattern.html

The One Block Wonders pattern can be found in Maxine Rosenthals book – available here – http://www.amazon.com/One-Block-Wonders-Fabric-One-kind/dp/1571203222

I haven’t taken any photos yet of my Summer in the Park block.  I want to get a few more done before I do, so there is more to see.  Will post them when I get some more finished.

I did get only one photo of my OBW blocks when the instructor had them up on her design wall for demo purposes.    I made one of these quilts in the past, for my granddaughter and was looking forward to doing it again, and doing a much better job.  I was second guessing my fabric choice for a couple of days prior to the retreat, thinking the pattern was not big enough; bold enough etc.  I had an 8 1/2″ repeat, and that was the MINIMUM required.  Well, after I saw them on the design wall, I knew it was going to be ok!!  I have 29 of the blocks made, and will be cutting more fabric.

Enjoy the pictures of our retreat!

This is my OBW; with a small Asian fabric in green; grey and blue with a touch of gold and tan.

This is my OBW; with a small Asian fabric in green; grey and blue with a touch of gold and tan.

Judy used an Asian fabric that had a coral base. She cut her's larger than mine.

Judy used an Asian fabric that had a coral base. She cut her’s larger than mine.

Barbara use a fabric that was feathers in 3 colors.

Barbara use a fabric that was feathers in 3 colors.

This is Linda's  project.  She is thinking about adding the CUBES that she found in the book.

This is Linda’s project. She is thinking about adding the CUBES that she found in the book.

Cindy cut her OBW blocks from a panel. The photo shows the original fabric with her blocks.

Cindy cut her OBW blocks from a panel. The photo shows the original fabric with her blocks.

This is bold and bright. (Forgot who it belonged to tho....ooops)

This is bold and bright. (Forgot who it belonged to tho….ooops)

My table mates - Rita and Judy. They were both on the retreat committee and did a great job.  Fun getting to know them both.

My table mates – Rita and Judy. They were both on the retreat committee and did a great job. Fun getting to know them both. The view out the window is the deck, dunes and beach!! Fun to sit and look up at the waves!

The sunrise from our hotel room !!! While the rest of the Northeast was battling snow, we woke up to this!! Love the mid-Atlantic!

The sunrise from our hotel room !!! While the rest of the Northeast was battling snow, we woke up to this!! Love the mid-Atlantic!

My family knows how much I like to cruise, but the trip Dunes Manor Hotel,(http://dunesmanor.com/) an ocean front hotel for a quilt retreat was the next best thing. (The really cool thing is I had only a 35 minute drive to get there!!!)

I had a great time sharing and learning with 25 other ladies from our guild. I love being in the guild, and think the committee from Ocean Waves Quilt Guild ( http://oceanwavesquiltguild.org/ ) picked the perfect setting for our retreat!  I can’t wait to go again!

Happy stitching!

7 thoughts on “Fun at Ocean Waves Quilt retreat

  1. Pingback: Starting a memorial quilt and more | stitchinggrandma

  2. Thank you so much for the link to your post showing the panel used in one of the quilts I saw at the quilt show. That is so cool I love how she used it for her blocks. I am going to keep an eye out for that panel of fabric such a great print. Take care and happy stitching.

    Like

Leave a Reply

