Sorting the chaos into submission…

So, I spent 4 hours folding fabric; just the way I learned at the IQF – Houston, using my long ruler and folding it almost the way it folded on the bolt, then folding in half to finish!!  I got the blues & greens done; working on the novelty prints; and began some of the reds.  In between folding; I did some scrap cutting!  Strips and squares and getting rid of those odd shaped pieces left over following garment making.  I sorted the fat quarters into 3 bins; one full of blues (I won 40 blue fat quarters) and the others by color wave.  Even have a bin of “Texas” fabric. (There is a quilt in mind for that. )

Odd shapes left from making a sun dress - cut into strips and squares!

Odd shapes left from making a sun dress – cut into strips and squares!

Finished folding the greens (on the desk top in a bin); the purples and blues (on the floor  in a bin). Still working on the novelty prints (on the chair)

Finished folding the greens (on the desk top in a bin); the purples and blues (on the floor in a bin). Still working on the novelty prints (on the chair)

This is the table I usually use when I pin a border on...wait; there is a quilt top on it with a pinned border; hidden by by bins of fabric I am sorting; and my strips I have been cutting from the scraps.

This is the table I usually use when I pin a border on…wait; there is a quilt top on it with a pinned border; hidden by by bins of fabric I am sorting; and my strips I have been cutting from the scraps.

The shelving unit the bins belong on; the batting is out of control and will get resolved another day!

The shelving unit the bins belong on; the batting is out of control and will get resolved another day!

The scrap table...this is to the right of my cutting table; buried under piles of Stuff; seems a good place to toss the pants that need mended; the fusable bin; and the 3 or 4 stacks of fabric for future projects !! YIKES ...and this is why I am working on sorting!!!

The scrap table…this is to the right of my cutting table; buried under piles of Stuff; seems a good place to toss the pants that need mended; the fusable bin; and the 3 or 4 stacks of fabric for future projects !! YIKES …and this is why I am working on sorting!!!

It still “looks” like this tonight, but I got so much done!!!  I think if there is an available flat surface, I might throw fabric on it!!!  Oh well; more tomorrow!  I have to get the chaos contained before I even finish that quilt top that is hiding on the big table.

6 thoughts on “Sorting the chaos into submission…

  1. That’s a lot of material and supplies, but I bet you can start projects without going to the store. 🙂 I have such a small space I have to reorganize after every project. Did you find any treasured fabric or tools you had been looking for? I found my favorite ripper in a chair not long ago. LOL

    Like

    • Hi Judy – it sure is a lot of stuff…feeling a bit like a hoarder! I love fabric. Finding that seam ripper in a chair could have been a hazard!
      Yes, I think I can start a lot of projects without going shopping…shssshhhh…. I am looking for a quilting stencil I lost amongst the chaos. I bought it at IQF Houston and can’t imagine where in the mess it has gotten away to. It was part of a kit; with a pounce applicator etc.Found part, but not all. My first stockpiling of fabric happened 2 years before I retired; and I am glad I “invested” in tangible items. I often pick up fabric (2-3 yards) if I hit a great sale or really love it. I know I have at least 3 or 4 sundresses in the stash to be made. Part of the organizing stems from rearranging the room last fall, and it never got “finished”. I have 2 tool pocket caddy’s I still need to hang, but can’t decide if they are going up or I am switching to peg board. Have the peg board, just need to get it framed and painted.

      Like

  2. Wow, that is great! I’m terrible about storing my scraps – I have three huge bins that I just dump things into…and yes, I feel like a hoarder too at times!!! LOL I just can’t bare to throw out a useable scrap though…

    Like

    • I’m still working on mine; have all my big pieces of fabric nicely folded, the fat quarters folded and filled four bins with varying sized pieces; all ironed, and stacked and LABELED !! (I know, crazy, right). My next effort is the baskets I have on my “scrap table”. They are “kinda” sorted by color..but that’s it. I’ve been so busy cutting things into usable sizes I need to put a new blade in the rotary cutter. All that odd shaped stuff is goig under the blade!

      Like

Leave a Reply

