Ten mitts finished

I had so much fun with my Artful Oven Mitts; thanks to the pattern and tutorial from Maria Shell.

I have finished 10 mitts, and have one on the cutting table; traced and ready to quilt.  I have “delivered” 3 as gifts this week while I am out traveling.  (I am away from my sewing and visiting with my sister for a week).

wpid-2013-12-07_21-58-34_793.jpg

I was tickled to see one of my faithful followers (the Wonders of Yarrow House) post a blog that she is going to make some as gifts too.

I do have to say;  I really started out to just make a couple; and had so much fun with the process, I just kept going.  I made a second trip for more INSUL-BRIGHT and Cotton Batting at Hobby Lobby .  (They had a much better price per yard on the INSUL BRIGHT than the local quilt store; so I got 3 yards.)  I mentioned in a previous post that I added a layer of cotton batting to my MITTS.   Maria calls for just the insul bright in her pattern; but she is using heavy fabric.  I am using quilting cotton on the outside of my mitts, so thought it was wise to take that precaution.  I used heavy decorator fabric on the inside.

My production line went something like this:    One day I sat and pieced together all my bits of scraps from my scrap baskets, just adding here and there; trimming to keep it manageable, pressing as I went.  Before the afternoon was finished I had a big 56×30 piece of fabric made from all those scraps.  The next afternoon, I took my templates (used 2) and traced around them all as I arranged on my big scrappy fabric.  I used a dark sharpie, as I had so many colors.  Then, I got them all layered up for quilting; adding 1 extra layer of cotton batting. The following day I did the machine quilting all over the big 56×30 piece with the shapes drawn on.  (Fill 2 or 3  bobbins before you start).  I sat one evening cutting out mitts and pinning together.  I made a bunch of cuff bindings and hanging tags one day, production line method.

Turning the mitts was something I did in the evening watching TV.  I have to warn you, they get very “linty” from the batting.  I used a knitting needle and a long screwdriver to work the thumbs out in the turning.  It was quite time consuming and about 3 was the most I would turn in an evening.  Tough on the ol’ arthritic fingers.

One afternoon I sat and worked on the hanging tags and cuff binding; using the open arm on my machine to slide the mitt over.  I have to admit, I machined on the binding for several of my mitts; and hand stitched the turn of the binding on only 4.  I am more pleased with the look of the hand stitch.  I would not “cut corners” again machining the binding.  It is such a tight fit on the arm of my machine, that it was difficult to get a nice neat looking finish, and I did break out the seam ripper to  correct that. So, no time was saved by trying to  do it all by machine.

I enjoyed making the Artful Oven Mitts. I got rid of a lot of scraps from my bins, and it was so freeing and fun “making” my own fabric, with out any quilting rules….just joining the pieces and stitching and having fun.  I left one set on the table to finish when I get home next week; then I think I will move on to something new.  Thanks Maria Shell for your inspiration.

6 thoughts on “Ten mitts finished

  1. One of those mitts would be a welcome gift anytime. I do so much of my work the same way you do yours – using scraps to make a piece of fabric, assembly line sewing wherever possible, hand stitching the binding, etc. It’s nice to sew something pretty that is also useful, isn’t it?
    Lillian

    Like

    • Yes Lillian, I love to make something pleasing to the eye, but you won’t be afraid to put to use. The reason I love reading blogs is finding so many useful tips and techniques. I figure you can master most things if they are broken down into steps and repeated a few times! This project was fun to try free motion quilting on too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

