production line

Had fun yesterday “making fabric” for Artful Oven Mitts.  Got 4 finished.   Had some left from the previous day all ready to go, so they are pinned and ready for quilting.

Pinned to the "quilt sandwich"; traced around the edges with a wide red SHARPIE marker.

Pinned to the “quilt sandwich”; traced around the edges with a wide red SHARPIE marker.

Feeling Opposite...This is really just 1 mitt!  All layered up with extra cotton along with that shiny foiled batting you need for an oven mitt . Needs the pattern traced, then the paper comes off and the pins go along the outside edges and get ready for the fun of quilting.

Feeling Opposite…This is really just 1 mitt! All layered up with extra cotton along with that shiny foiled batting you need for an oven mitt . Needs the pattern traced, then the paper comes off and the pins go along the outside edges and get ready for the fun of quilting.

So fun digging in the scrap bins and taking all sorts of shapes and pieces and "making" fabric!  These little bits will get squared up and more bits attached. (Going to have two color waves going tho!)

So fun digging in the scrap bins and taking all sorts of shapes and pieces and “making” fabric! These little bits will get squared up and more bits attached. (Going to have two color waves going tho!)

Threw a touch of red in for fun!  I grabbed the blue green  bin and started to put pieces together. Realized I had some rather LARGE bits (6x6 or 8x8) pieces in the mix.  this whole piece is about 25x50.  Think before I start drawing mitts on, I might take my rotary cutter and SLICE through some of those big green and blue blocks and make them smaller; rotate them around; wedge something else in andd stitch again.  I like the looke of the smaller pieces on the finished Artful Oven Mitts.

Threw a touch of red in for fun! I grabbed the blue green bin and started to put pieces together. Realized I had some rather LARGE bits (6×6 or 8×8) pieces in the mix. this whole piece is about 25×50. Think before I start drawing mitts on, I might take my rotary cutter and SLICE through some of those big green and blue blocks and make them smaller; rotate them around; wedge something else in andd stitch again. I like the looke of the smaller pieces on the finished Artful Oven Mitts.

Go check out Maria’s blog http://talesofastitcher.com/2013/11/10/artful-oven-mitts/ for details on how to make these wonderful oven mitts.  She messaged me yesterday and indicated she STILL has patterns to give away.    Follow her instructions too….I should NOT have cut my mitts before quilting; just marked them with a sharpie.  I did the first one cutting it out then quilting; did 3 using her method; then the last one, which is PINNED in the photos above, I cut apart after pinning the pattern to it.  Going to go back; trace my outline; QUILT; then trim to the proper shape.  I am also going to modify the bottom cuff  just a smidge to make it easier to get it over the open arm of my machine.  If I add 1 ” it will be so much easier for me to get the binding on the cuff! (That means I need to add 1″ to the binding…can’t forget that part!

I need to get another package of Insul Bright today before I go any further!  You are in for a real visual treat when you check out Maria’s little army of MITTS!

Enjoy

One thought on “production line

  1. Pingback: Projects for Christmas | stitchinggrandma

Leave a Reply

