Fun stuff for little boys!

After making sundresses for the girls; I thought I needed to follow through with something that I have been meaning to make for my grandson.

Remember those fat quarters I won?  Well, I put 3 to good use today!  Fabric is  Robotex Tools lines, designed by Mint Blossom for Northcott.  These 3 fat quarters were part of  a group of 10 I won last month!  Thanks Quilt Shop Navigator and Ellicott City Sew and Vac.  My daughter suggested my grandson might like something of that sort…so, I knew the perfect fabric….

I saw lots of examples on the web in various blogs for Hot Wheels carriers.  I decided to use my fat quarters, and let the size and shape of the fabric guide me.

hot wheels pix 4

Tool fabric the width of a fat quarter gives a row of 5 pockets to keep your hotwheels in.

wpid-2013-09-11_18-51-43_107.jpg

A set of pockets both at the top and the bottom . Put your cars in from the center! Don’t you love the gears on the blue???

pix 2 hot wheels.jpg

Hot Wheels carrier folds into thirds

hot wheels caddy px 1

folds up and has handles to pick up and go

Love the robots!

I put the Gears fat quarter and the Robots fat quarter together, with a bit of batting in between and machine quilted.   I built the pockets by cutting the fat quarter in half, added some fusing to one half for a little body.  Stitched them up and added 1 at the top and one at the bottom gears blue fabric.  Added some binding (red with stars from al different fabric line)built some handles; a little velcro for closing;….and ta-da….

Special thanks to Grandpa for the loan of a cool hot wheel to test the pockets.  I advised he may have to select a few new ones before I put this caddy in the mail!

Happy Stitching!

6 thoughts on “Fun stuff for little boys!

    • It took me an afternoon to do this project, but I think it could be quicker if you chose to use fusable pellon and did not quilt or bind them. It was very simple really. The most complicated part was trying to figure out how & where to place the handles, without interfering with the pockets on the inside. If I was doing it again, I would stitch the handles on before adding the pocket panel.
      Transformers…great idea. Grandpa can pick up one or two and tuck in the pocket along with a hot wheel.

      Like

    • I loved working with such fun fabric. The “tag” was vintage…it came from my mother’s sewing box. My sister was cleaning things out at her house and saved them for me. I got them last year, 12 years after she had died. It was really something. 🙂 I enjoy adding them to my grandkids projects. I have made my own fabric tags too, using ribbon and iron on transfer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

