two more borders in place

cross roads outer border

Got to the sewing room today and managed to get two borders on my Cross Roads pattern (design by Pat Sloan-from her book I Can’t Believe I’m Quilting – Beyond the basics). This is my project from my quilting class I am taking at Serendipty Quilt Shop in Dagsboro Delaware — http://www.serendipityquiltshop.com/
I am taking the Advanced Beginner quilting series and this was our third lesson.

Once I got my border with the flying geese on, I thought the pattern needed a little something else. So, I went for a border using the same red fabric as in the 1/2 square triangles. I really liked that red with the little gold hearts. The color may be a bit off (thanks to cell phone camera or evening lighting). The reds in this group are really a brown tone of red.

So, at this point the piece is 45″ square, and beckons the question….what next? Of course, in the book we are using, the pattern calls for a whole quilt made of the piece in the center with a single narrow border and alternating colors. I only have a few pieces of this fabric left, so thinking I might have to go shopping……

Leave a Reply

